Painting and mirrors

At my worst my life is about painting– specifically the painting that I am continually trying to compose of myself.  My attention is to the color and shapes and intensities of the images that I spend my time trying to construct.  It is about polishing and highlighting a vision so compelling that its truth seems self evident to everyone (including me).  I paint in many ways with many implements but life is in the end a story of the picture I paint.

At my best I am a mirror.  In me people can see something of what is important, what has value, and something of the beauty of life.  The importance is not so much what people see of me, but what they might see of things far beyond me.  It is not the value of my story, but the value of stories.  It is not in my purposes, but in the value of purpose.  It is not in my loves, but in the value of love.

It is in helping people to know that while our values may determine much of the way we choose to live, it is the principles  we live by that determine the quality of that life and the consequences of our living.

Leave a comment