Is “High Functioning” Stigmatizing? | Pax Nortona – A Blog by Joel Sax

Please read and share

Is “High Functioning” Stigmatizing? | Pax Nortona – A Blog by Joel Sax
http://paxnortona.notfrisco2.com/?p=10604
【from Next Browser】

One thought on “Is “High Functioning” Stigmatizing? | Pax Nortona – A Blog by Joel Sax”

  1. The question was: “Is the term high-functioning stigmatizing”?

    Speaking for myself, I say absolutely, without a doubt, the term high-functioning is stigmatizing! Any time a group of people are labeled/categorized differently from others in that group, it has a very stigmatizing effect.

    I used to visibly cringe when mental health professionals described me as ‘high-functioning’ – as if they were doing me a favor or letting me know how ‘special’ I was. When they described me this way, I felt like they were – consciously or unconsciously – expressing an obscure disdain for others of my psychiatric label who were not as smart or capable as I was. This can have the effect of pitting us against each other – or setting up a class/hierarchy within a particular label – ie: “I am better than you are; na ne na ne boo boo!!

    Many professionals think they are reassuring/complimenting patients/clients by telling them they are high-functioning. The literal translation in my head (when they said it) went something like this: “You may be crazy but at least you are an intelligent and more capable crazy person than others in your diagnostic category”!

    Oh well hell’s bells, I feel so honored to know I am one of the ‘special ones’!! Gag!

Leave a Reply

