Celebration

Has anyone celebrated you today?   Has anyone celebrated you being in there lives,  you being in particular situations with them,  just you being alive?

How about you?  Have you celebrated anyone?   Who have you told how grateful and excited you are that they are in your life,  that they are with you,  that they are alive?

The answer for most of us for most of the time is nobody.   Somebody once told me: “No one has ever been glad I am there.   No one… I do not remember a single time that I genuinely felt like me being there made it a better day for someone else.”  She went on: “Life is not the hardest thing.   Living alone is the hardest thing.  Particularly living alone in the middle of a crowd.   It is the loneliness…. The soul crunching,  mind killing,  heart breaking loneliness.   And maybe I am wrong.   I know all of us see ourselves in other people but I don’t think I am the only one. It’s not possible to feel good enough not to be lonely.   I know I have tried.   There is not a feel good that substitutes for another person.”

To celebrate and to be celebrated is a human  need.   It is not just what makes life tolerable.   It is what makes it worthwhile and energizing.   And the lack of it is,  I believe,  at the bottom of way too much of the emptiness that too many of us live with.

Celebrate someone today.   Look for a reason.   Someone no matter how small the way has made today a better day than it could be.  Say thank you.   Someone (a much smarter person than me)  told me a long time ago the more things you say thank you for the more things you will find to be thankful about.

Thank you for being there today.

Leave a Reply

