My Southern heritage

I just listened to Donald Trump pandering to a racist the night after the debate. On live TV for all to hear. Made me think about this post

Hopeworks Community

I spent a lot of time as a child in Charleston. My dad was in the Air Force, but my mother was from Charleston and it was as much home as anywhere else. I have listened to people talk about their “southern heritage” and how taking down the Confederate flag threatens that heritage. I also had a southern heritage…

I remember when I was 6 or 7 going to a store with my mom in Charleston. I remember 3 doors: white men, white women, and colored. I remember asking her why. I could not imagine her being mean to anyone. She stammered for a minute. “It is just the way things are…. “ Those doors were part of my Southern heritage.

I remember my uncle telling me how bad blacks smelled and how lazy they were with his black maid working in the next room. The word he used started…

View original post 440 more words

Leave a Reply

