An open letter to the Republican members of the Tennessee House of Representatives

Dear Representatives :

My name is Larry Drain and I live in Maryville,  Tennessee.   I am one of 280,000 Tennesseans in the coverage gap.   I am now retired  but worked for  47  years.   7 years ago I lost insurance when I left a job .   I  never thought getting it back would be that big of a deal.

I make $5000 too little to qualify for the ACA.   My wife Linda and I have been married for 34 years.   They tell me if we divorced I would  qualify.   In March we will be married for 35 years.

My wife and I have been separated now for almost 2 years.  She is on SSI and through that gets Tenn Care.   She has serious medical needs and needs insurance to survive.   We separated to save her insurance basically to save her life. Our story has been told several times in the media and perhaps you have read it.

I write with only one question.

Will at least one of you step forward and introduce Insure Tennessee in the next legislative session? The Democrats probably will but that is no where close to good enough. Without Republican support those who wish it would go away will mark it as a partisan maneuver not worthy of serious consideration. Tennessee needs a hero Please…

I wish I could tell you I thought this was a safe thing to do but honestly it may not be. I wish I could tell you this was an easy thing to do but I don’t think it will be. All I can really tell you is it is the right thing to do. Going without medical care is neither safe or easy either. There is no other plan. It is either care or not care. Enough people have been hurt. Too many have died. Will you step forward?

There are 280,000 people waiting to say thanks. Some cannot wait much longer. Will you or even better you and a colleague step forward?

280,000 people need your voice.

Larry Drain
Maryville TN

One thought on “An open letter to the Republican members of the Tennessee House of Representatives”

Leave a Reply

