“What now?”…Reflections on a night in the parking lot

Knoxville recently showed a film about RAM. This was my RAM experience last year.

Hopeworks Community

It is around 12:30 now. I am sitting in the parking lot of the knoxville zoo awaiting the opening of RAM (remote area medical services) at 6 in the morning. I am cold but at least I have a car. The couple next to me walked in. They are just laying down on the ground. I offered the car but they say they can make it. Workers are walking around passing out chemical handwarmers. And 3 days ago 7 senators killed a bill in a senate committee that would have given insurance to over 200000 uninsured Tennesseans. The guy next to me said it all. I asked him how he was doing and he looked at the surroundings and joked, “It’s a zoo.” I thought of the Tennessee state legislature and thought to myself, “He doesn’t know how much he hit it on the head. It is a zoo.

What…

View original post 118 more words

Leave a Reply

