Unhappiness is not a psychiatric Illness

From the archives

Hopeworks Community

To a friend

I apologize for taking so long to write you back. This is actually my fourth attempt to write this post. I have an idea what I want to say. The struggle as always is in finding the words to say it.

I am so sorry that so much has been so hard. People aren’t supposed to say they are unhappy and I think it takes a bit of courage for you to say so. People tend I think to fear it makes them look like a failure, like they’re not trying hard enough. I agree with you also. Too many people just write it off as a sign of emotional problems or even a symptom of mental illness. They tend to assume the problem is the unhappy person and not the source of unhappiness.

We have forgotten a central truth. Sometimes life sucks. We have endless books…

View original post 362 more words

Leave a Reply

