The real question…. Still the real question

From last year

I read again the article about the end of legislative session news conference and I realized the single most important question of all was never asked.  It was probably the only question that really mattered and I would have payed money to have someone ask it publicly to Ron Ramsey  or Beth Harwell.

Insure Tennessee would have given about 280,000 people health insurance.   It would  have saved lives, prevented avoidable suffering and improved the quality of life for countless people,  saved families  and made many communities better places to live. THAT DIDN’T MATTER AND I UNDERSTAND THAT.

This legislature gave 280,000 people the freedom to carry guns virtually every where they go but did not give the same people freedom to get treatment for illness or access life saving or life enhancing medication.   THAT DIDN’T MATTER. I UNDERSTAND THAT.

The program would not have cost Tennessee a penny. Between the federal government  and the hospitals all the costs would have been picked up. THAT DIDN’T MATTER.   I UNDERSTAND THAT.

There was a mechanism for the state to bow out if the program did not work out. THAT DIDN’T MATTER.   I UNDERSTAND THAT.

The most important bill in years was never discussed by the full legislative body.  The legislators for many people never got to vote or even discuss the most important issue in their constituents lives.  Democracy failed.   Pure and simple democracy failed.  THAT DIDN’T MATTER. I  UNDERSTAND THAT.

There were no other ideas, no other alternatives even brought up.   THAT DIDN’T MATTER.   I UNDERSTAND THAT.

It brought Tennessee tax dollars  back to Tennessee. THAT DIDN’T MATTER.   I UNDERSTAND THAT.

It would have created thousands of jobs in Tennessee and been a major plus to our economy. THAT DIDN’T MATTER.   I UNDERSTAND THAT.

It would have given life to many rural and small town hospitals on life support. THAT DIDN’T MATTER.   I UNDERSTAND THAT.

It would  have improved the overall health of the state of Tennessee and thus saved millions of dollars and the quality of life for thousands of its citizens. THAT DIDN’T MATTER. I UNDERSTAND THAT.

We spent days discussing rather or not the Bible should be the official state book but ignored our best chance to act like the principles in that book should guide the most important decisions we make.   THAT DIDN’T MATTER.  I UNDERSTAND THAT.

We had a real chance to make Tennessee a more just and fair place to live   We blew that. THAT DIDN’T MATTER.  I UNDERSTAND THAT.

Senator Ramsey  and Rep Harwell I understand all these things and many more.

But there is one question, one thing I simply don’t understand and had I been there it would have been the only question I would  have asked.

WHAT DID MATTER?????

For this year….

WHAT WILL MATTER THIS YEAR??????

A lot of us  don’t know.

Leave a Reply

