The saddest, very, very saddest day of my life

This is the saddest day of my life.

After a lot of thought and prayer after 34 years of marriage Linda and I have decided to seek a divorce.

The reasons are ours and ours alone and we ask that you respect our privacy during this difficult time.

The last 3 years have been very cruel to us and brought us to a place neither of us really believed was possible.   Linda is the best person I have ever known.   Her combination of courage,  intelligence,  and compassion has been the blessing of a lifetime.   She has been the miracle of my life.

This has been a mutual decision reluctantly reached.   Linda will always be my friend and I will continue to try to help her in every way possible.

Please pray for both of us.   We are both hurting very bad.

I really don’t know what all this means for me personally.   I have no idea where to go from here.

Thanks to so many people who have supported us so passionately, particularly over the last three years.   It has been a nightmare I wish we had never known.

Thanks in advance for the kindness I know you will continue to show to both of us.  

Sadly,

Larry Drain

5 thoughts on “The saddest, very, very saddest day of my life”

  1. Larry: My prayers are with you both. I can’t imagine what you have gone through. The state, through unjust policies often leverages and divides families. I’m not making any assumptions about how wrongful public policies may have negatively impacted your relationship with Linda, but I respect your privacy and have no right to speculate. I appreciate all that you have done to help others in similarly difficult and painful life circumstances.

  2. Dear Larry,
    Though I don’t know you personally, it’s no coincidence that I read your poignant post. Unfortunately, my marriage of 35 years is ending legally, though the past 10 years I’ve been living on fantasy island because I never wanted to get divorced. Thank you for sharing this… I can truly identity.
    Elaine E.

  3. My heart is heavy and tears are flowing down my eyes when I read this post. I was praying that it wasn’t true and maybe you’ll change your minds but praying continuing for both of you during this difficult and not wanted decision in both of your lives.

Leave a Reply

