Against violence 

I am against violence… 

I am against the threat that some people live with everyday because of the color of their skin.   Being black should not be dangerous and it is. Others have found because of their cultural background,  their financial status,  their disability or the labels placed upon them by others they also live in dangerous spaces. 

I am against the violence of politicians who tell us hatred and anger are common sense and use the conflicts among us to further their political ambitions.   I am against the violence of politicians or any so-called leader who would tell that we need to fear those different than us and be prepared to strike them before they threaten us. 

I am against the violence of those who would treat others as less because of their race, their faith, their gender or living situation. They are a cancer on this planet.

I am against the violence of those who would justify the death or injury of others as a duty given to them by God or by the righteousness of their cause. 

I am against the violence of poverty.   I am against the assault on the soul,  on the mind, on the body of people who know life is about doing without what they need.  I am against the terror of those who must live with their children’s hunger. I am against the fear of  those who must worry if they can pay the rent this month.  

 I am against the violence of culture which dismisses the poor as lazy and getting what they deserve while the gap between the rich and poor gets greater and greater. 



I am against the violence of a society in which we routinely shoot our neighbors and friends at a rate unheard of in other developed countries and then explain it away as the threat of the “mentally ill.”

I am against the violence of hunger in a land of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. I am against the violence of politicians who would protect us from the danger of poor people eating too much.

I am against the violence of health care injustice. I am against people dying for lack of medical care simply because they are poor. I am against the unnecessary suffering of those who suffer from illness and sickness we can cure or treat simply because we lack the political will or integrity to make that care available to those who need it. 

I am against against the violence of a society which measures us by our possessions or judges us by our social status.   I am against the violence of a society which assumes that someone’s poverty,  or problems is their fault and in some way a judgement of their lack of character. 

I am against the violence of the assumption that some people are intrinsically more important than other people and deserve more in life. 

I believe that you matter and I matter.   I believe that you don’t have to lose for me to win.  I believe that justice is essential to better life and that in the justice for the least of us is the beginning of real hope for all of us. 

One thought on “Against violence ”

Leave a Reply

